Skip to main content
NetApp Stage KB

"Why a restored SPO file is smaller than the original?"

Applies to

  • SaaS Backup for Microsoft Office 365
  • SharePoint Online

Answer

This behavior is expected

Additional Information

While restoring if the customer chose, Overwrite with merge option, only if the version of the backup and current file match.
Result: The backup is restored to the original location.
Any new content in the destination is ignored and unaffected.
However, if the customer is keen to replace the existing content with whatever the backup is, they have the option to do so by choosing Replace the existing content option.
NetApp provides no representations or warranties regarding the accuracy or reliability or serviceability of any information or recommendations provided in this publication or with respect to any results that may be obtained by the use of the information or observance of any recommendations provided herein. The information in this document is distributed AS IS and the use of this information or the implementation of any recommendations or techniques herein is a customer's responsibility and depends on the customer's ability to evaluate and integrate them into the customer's operational environment. This document and the information contained herein may be used solely in connection with the NetApp products discussed in this document.
606424e7-d5f6-4850-b626-65bb24db82fc